The Tribute

Heritage Keeper Award 

The Heritage Keeper Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites. This award, given at the annual Tribute event, recognizes Indiana’s greatest ambassadors for their embodiment of the Hoosier Spirit in their achievements, leadership and service to the State of Indiana. This year, John and Sarah Lechleiter will be honored for their service to Indiana. 

The 2017 Tribute is SOLD OUT

To make a contribution visit: Eventbrite or call 317.232.1637.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017
6 p.m. Reception/VIP Reception
7 p.m. Program
8 p.m. Dinner Reception

Tickets are $250 and are non-refundable. Tickets are considered contributions to the Indiana State Museum Foundation.

Cocktail attire is requested. Complimentary valet will be available at the Washington Street entrance.

Contributions in honor of John and Sarah Lechleiter
To recognize the Lechleiters’ passion for supporting Indiana art and artists, the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites gratefully accepts gifts to the Fine Art Acquisition Fund in honor of Sarah and John. The Fine Art Acquisition Fund provides much-needed resources for the museum to take ownership of works of Indiana art from a wide variety of artists, formats, and time periods. Contributions to this fund help to make it possible for the ISMHS to enhance its collection such that it represents the rich diversity of Indiana art for future generations to appreciate.

Contributors to the Fine Art Acquisition Fund in honor of John and Sarah who make their gifts prior to March 20, 2017, will receive recognition in the Tribute event program. Gifts can be made by credit card or by mailing a check to Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites Foundation, 650 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN, 46204.


2017 Tribute Committee: Janet Allen, Andrew Dahlem, Shaun Dingwerth, Daniel Evans, Jr., Elizabeth Lechleiter Kelly, Bart Peterson, Bill Ringo, Rob Smith, Al Smith and Ted Verheggen. 

Proceeds will help the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites develop high-quality exhibitions and dynamic programming for visitors and school children across the state of Indiana. 

For information about sponsoring the Tribute, please contact Nathan Dynak.

Former Honorees:

2016 - Former Governors of Indiana, Evan Bayh, Joe Kernan, Mitch Daniels and Mike Pence
2015 - Former First Lady of Indiana, Judy O'Bannon
2014 - Rabbi Sandy Sasso
2013 - Senator Richard Lugar
2012 - Earl Goode
2011 - The Hulman-George family