Released August 2, 2022

98th Annual Hoosier Art Salon Opens Aug. 27 at the Indiana State Museum

INDIANAPOLIS – Nearly 130 artists from across Indiana will have their work displayed in the Indiana State Museum Aug. 27 through Oct. 23 as part of the 98th annual Hoosier Art Salon exhibition.

This year’s exhibit will feature 155 artworks by 129 artists in eight categories – figure, still life, abstract, three-dimensional work, watercolor, portrait, landscape and original work or print on paper.

Twenty-two artists are being featured for the first time and seven former Best of Show winners have work in the exhibit.

The full list of artists and their hometowns is below.

“The Indiana State Museum is once again honored to host this important exhibit,” said Mark Ruschman, the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites’ senior curator of art and culture. “This is a great opportunity for our visitors to see the amazing artistic talent from across the state, featuring a wide variety of media, technique and subject matter.”

To be eligible for the competition, an artist must be a Hoosier Salon member and must have lived in Indiana for a minimum of one year at any point during his or her life.

All the work in the show is available for sale beginning Aug. 25 through Oct. 23 online at

“You might think you have seen it all after 98 years of the Hoosier Salon annual exhibition, but that is not true,” said Michael Quinn, Hoosier Art Salon board president. “Indiana artists continue to amaze us with new ways to really see and appreciate nature, objects, people and experiences. It is the perfect opportunity to discover new artists and experience a wide array of Indiana artists’ works in one place.”

The Hoosier Salon legacy began in 1925 when the Daughters of Indiana opened the doors to the first exhibition of Indiana contemporary artists at Marshall Field and Company Galleries in Chicago. In 1942, the exhibit moved to downtown Indianapolis – first at the William H. Block (until 1977), then at L.S. Ayres and Company (1978-89). In 1990, the Hoosier Salon exhibit came to the Indiana State Museum, where it has been ever since except for a stint at the Indiana Historical Society from 2005-2010.

The artists who will be featured in this year’s exhibit are:

Dawn Adams (Bloomington)
Jo Belmont (Indianapolis)
Anne-Karine Bley (Bloomington)*
Roy Boswell (Bargersville)
Robert Bratton (Carmel)
Simona Buna (Noblesville)*
Ashley Burket (Bloomington)
Mark Burkett (Mooresville)*
Brian Burt (Mason, Ohio)*
John Michael Carter (Louisville, Ky.)**(2005, 2012)
Kathryn Clark (Brookston)
Judy E. Crawford (Demotte)
Laura Crawford (Indianapolis)*
Steven L. Creighton (Warsaw)
Alicia Dawn Criswell (Lafayette)
David Cunningham (Indianapolis)
Willis “Bing” Davis (Dayton, Ohio)
Lyle Denney (Nashville)
Steve Dodge (Martinsville)
Fred Doloresco (Fremont)**(2009)
Brandi Donan (Chattanooga, Tenn.)
Bruce Doughty (Mooresville)
Daniel Driggs (Frankfort)
Stephen Edwards (Sheridan)
Caron Fausel (Louisville, Ky.)*
Brad Fields (Fishers)
Forrest L. Formsma (Indianapolis)
Beth A. Forst (Noblesville)
Wendy Franklin (Carmel)
Joel Fremion (Ossian)
Charlene George (Brookville)
Karen A. Graeser (Indianapolis)*
Sylvia Gray (Westfield)
Mary Gretsinger (Columbus)**(2013, 2014)
Randal Gunyon (Avon)
Lesley B. Haflich (Noblesville)*
Sheryl Haines (Indianapolis)*
Jerome C. Harste (Bloomington)
Dena Hawes (Bloomington)
Jeannie Hilfiker (Indianapolis)
Thomas Himsel (Brownsburg)
Samuel D. Hoffman (Fort Wayne)
Dan Howell (Noblesville)
John Hrehov (Fort Wayne)*
Lawrence Hunter (Indianapolis)
Matt Hurdle (Westfield)
Debra Huse (Costa Mesa, Calif.)
Judith Jensen (Indianapolis)
Brian D. Johnson (Nashville)*
Gary Jursik (Greenwood)
Patrick  Kluesner (Anderson)
Alan J. Larkin (South Bend)**(2015)
Abby Laux (Celestine)
Liisa Le (Indianapolis)*
Wyatt LeGrand (Bloomfield)
Cheryle J. Lowe (Indianapolis)
Sarah L. Luginbill (Peru)
Peter Lupkin (Fort Wayne)
William Lupkin ( Yoder)
M. Therese Lynch (West Lafayette)
Ellen Starr Lyon (Bloomington)*
Elise Lyon (Jersey City, N.J.)
Ronald P. Mack (Indianapolis)
A. Cassia Margolis (Indianapolis)
Susan Mauck (Westfield)
Deborah McCloud (Indianapolis)*
Jeanne L. McLeish (Mooresville)
Katherine Meade (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.)
Bob Meyers (Indianapolis)
Cynthia Miller (Tucson, Ariz.)*
Craig W. Mullins (Indianapolis)*
Cindy Crofoot (Lawrenceburg)
Martha Nahrwold (Indianapolis)
Bruce L. Neckar (Indianapolis)
Pamela Newell (Fishers)
Kami Noland (Indianapolis)
Kate Orr (Indianapolis)
Vandra Pentecost (Indianapolis)
Allan Peters (Indianapolis)*
Kathleen Petitjean (South Bend)*
Dianna  Porter (Greenwood)
Robert Pote (Mount Vernon)
Nicole Powell (Indianapolis)
Martin Price (Parker City)*
Kyle Ragsdale (Indianapolis)
Mark Ratzlaff (Lexington. Ky.)
Russell Recchion (Tucson, Ariz.)**(2020)
Matt Rees (Greencastle)
J. Rodney Reveal (Noblesville)
Patricia Rhoden (Nashville)
Carleen Rivera (Munster)
J. Anna Roberts (Brownsburg)
Ann C. Rose (Indianapolis)
Betty J. Scarpino (Indianapolis)
Teresa  Schultz  (Nashville)
Beth Clary Schwier Indianapolis)
David M. Seward (Zionsville)
Kerry Shaw (Muncie)
Donna Shortt (Indianapolis)
Michael A. Smith (Avon)*
Jerry Smith (Crawfordsville)
William Smock ( Idaville)
Rita Spalding (Indianapolis)
Stephanie Spay (Noblesville)**(2021)
Arlyne Springer (Noblesville)
Curt Stanfield (Rosedale)
Brenda Stichter (Warsaw)
Carol Strock Wasson (Union City)
Brian Talbert (Spencer)
Stephanie Paige Thomson (Brownsburg)**(2019)
Diane Tracy-Lehman (Peru)
Gerald Traicoff (Carmel)
Mark Van Buskirk (Richmond)*
Mark Vander VInne (Porter)
Justin C. Vining (Indianapolis)
Elisabeth von der Lohe ( Indianapolis)*
Mark Waninger (Jamestown)
Steve Warner (Indianapolis)
Kathryn Waters (Evansville)*
Patricia Weiss (Huntertown)
Elizabeth G. Whipple (Avon)
April G. Willy (Indianapolis)
Cherie Wilson (Bloomington)
Kevin J. Wilson (Indianapolis)
Rick D. Wilson (Edinburgh)
Cindy D. Wingo (Carmel)
Dan Woodson (Muncie)
Carrie Wright (Muncie)
Sabrina Zhou (Carmel)*

*first-time selection
**previous best-of-show winner